Good News Wednesday

Today I am unveiling a new feature – Good News Wednesday!

Every Wednesday I will share an inspiring story affecting these children. We all can use some good news, and there are so many wonderful people doing amazing work. I think they should be recognized, and children who have a second chance at a future acknowledged.

Babli in Mumbai, May 2008

Today I would like to share the story of Pamela and Babli. Pamela found my book through an online adoption group, and contacted me after she had read it. This is what she wrote to me:

Just finished reading your book and it was wonderful. We adopted Babli last October from a Mumbai orphanage. She had been found badly injured by the body of her mother at a Bombay train station when she was about 3 years old. Your stories are her story. Her resilience is that of the children you describe. She is now about 7or 8 and happy and smart and amazing.

Pamela ended by thanking me for writing the book, as she continued to try to figure out a way to be more involved and help more children like Babli. “I’ll be watching for more of your writings and looking to you for further inspiration,” she said. “You have written a very important book.”

Thank YOU, Pamela, for sharing the incredible story of your amazing Babli with me. Here is some more information about this little girl who has been given a second chance at life:

Babli today

Babli today

Nothing was known about Babli’s life before the age of about 3. She was found beside the body of her dead mother at Borivali train station. Her mother had sustained open femur fractures of both of her legs and a head injury. Pamela hoped to find out more about what happened to Babli’s mother, but was given conflicting stories…that she and her mother fell from the train, they were pushed from the train, her mother walked with her in front of the train as a suicide attempt due to poverty. “We may never know,” says Pamela. “She is our most precious child. That we do know.

Babli was hospitalized for several months and endured 3 years of surgeries in India in an attempt to save her right leg. However, the leg required amputation in the U.S. after Pamela and her husband brought her home last October. Before that, Babli lived for 3 years at St. Catherine’s Home in Mumbai. She was cared for very well there, and for this Pamela is most grateful. Prior to the adoption, Pamela was told that testing revealed Babli to be mentally retarded.

“Nothing could be further from the truth,” Pamela insists. “She is smart and kind and loving. Nothing can stop this kid and she brings joy to us every day.

What an amazing story – it is knowing that these miracles exist, that makes it possible for me to continue this work without a heavy heart. Thank you, Pamela, for sharing Babli’s incredible story with us – and congratulations on your beautiful daughter.

Babli at home in New York

Babli at home in New York

Don’t forget to join me for 10 minutes at Authors Read, on September 19 when I will be reading from The Weight of Silence.

And check out the Travel’n On radio show on September 29, when I am the guest. The Travel’n On Radio Show empowers travelers to have fun while leaving positive footprints by fostering global citizenship and creating cross-cultural understanding.  Click here to listen to the broadcast online, 9/29 at 3 pm CST.

Bookmark and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on September 15, 2009, in adoption, asia, children, India, inspiration, media, news, orphans, poverty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

