Good News Wednesday – Another child sponsored

Photo courtesy of World Vision

©2007 Andrea Dearborn/World Vision

I decided to start the “Good News Wednesday” series because of all the feedback from readers who share their own personal, heartwarming stories of hope with me. Even though the issues facing vulnerable children are difficult and many, there are also so many inspirational tales of positive change that make me feel that all of our work is really making a difference. I thank each and every one of you for your support, and for caring about these children and their stories.

Today I would like to share the story of Dawnene and her daughter. Dawnene initially came across The Weight of Silence while researching a trip to India. She wrote to me after reading it, to tell me that the book had inspired the two of them to sponsor their own child, a 12-year-old girl, through World Vision. Dawnene said:

Your book was so touching to me that I cried when reading many parts but was also left with a strong resolve that there was no way I could read this book and with this newly acquired knowledge and awareness not do something…anything regardless of how small it was, to try to make a difference. My initial excitement about planning my trip to India evolved into an entirely different prospective and mission. I now wanted to go and DO something about these children not just visit the Taj Mahal and be a tourist.

We don’t make a lot of money ourselves but in comparison to what these children’s lives are like, we are rich. After reading your book, my 21 year old daughter, Charlene, and I chose to sponsor a girl from India, named Nikitha. I hope to someday go to India myself and make a difference with volunteer work of some sort.”

Photo by G. Jeff Lamigo/World Vision

Photo by G. Jeff Lamigo/World Vision

I applaud Dawnene and Charlene for becoming aware of the situation, hearing the voices of these kids, and then taking action to do something about it. Do not, for one second, think that such an action is too small or ever underestimate the power of changing the future, and the world, of just one child. It is a ripple effect that can know no boundaries.

Dawnene then wrote a review of the book on Amazon.com that said, in part: “I, like many others, saw Slumdog Millionaire and was heartbroken by the stories of the children in the film and interested to learn more about this culture and its people. Shelley’s book did an excellent job of telling their stories. I had to actually put it down several times before I finished it for a couple of days so I could fully digest what I had read and get my mind around it.”

You can read Dawnene’s full review here. Thank YOU, Dawnene and Charlene – not just for your kind words of support, but for the love and care you have shown by being willing to step up and do something yourselves, instead of waiting for someone else to do it. I will end this post with the quote from the book that Dawnene said was her favorite:

If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.
~Mother Theresa

Bookmark and Share

Watch a World Vision video about child sponsorship

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on September 23, 2009, in children, India, inspiration, journalism, media, poverty, shelley seale, travel, volunteer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

