Breathe, Dream, Go

Breathe Dream Go is an absolutely beautiful blog written by a fellow writer and friend, Mariellen Ward. Mariellen also travels to India often, as do I, and is as enamored of the country and its people as I am.

Today the blog has featured a guest post by me, called India Chooses You, on how India and her children affected me. It is a love letter to both the country and the people of India, and I hope it will give you some sense of why I felt compelled to be on this journey. India really did choose me, from the moment I arrived. Click here to read! An excerpt includes:

The very existence of these children had forever altered both the person I was and my view of the world. In some ways I felt more familiar to myself here, like I was now the person I had been brought to India to become. I had arrived, that first time two years before, not really knowing what to expect. I had not come to India to change anything about it; instead, the country and its people had worked a transformational change in me. They had allowed me into the real heart of the place and by doing so spared me from viewing it with the eyes of an outsider.”

Thank you, and Namaste!

Bookmark and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on January 19, 2010, in India and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

