Miracle Under the Stars

Caroline Boudreaux outlines her 3-year plan to guests at the party

For today’s Good News Wednesday, I wanted to report on the beautiful “Miracle Under the Stars” party last night, for the Miracle Foundation. Held at the incredible home of Steve Hicks and Donna Stockton-Hicks, the party enjoyed a huge turn-out and was a celebration of the organization’s accomplishments, as well as an unveiling of a 3-year plan and fundraising to make that happen.

Since I became involved with the Miracle Foundation five years ago, I have watched it grow from a struggling little one-woman enterprise, with no staff and just a handful of dedicated volunteers, to an organization that is still small, yet has staff, an incredible Board of Directors, and enough backing to be supporting 500 children in four homes in Northeast India.

Last night at the party, I looked around at some of the high-profile guests in attendance, and the sheer number of people in attendance, and marveled at how far Caroline Boudreaux’s passion and dedication has brought her for these kids.

Sibani the night Caroline met her in 2000 (inset), and today

Since the night she accidentally stumbled upon her first orphanage in Orissa, India, and filthy toddler Sibani fell asleep in her lap, Caroline has gone from a woman who turned her successful corporate life upside down to single-handedly try to affect change for these kids; to the woman who spoke last night to a group of dedicated and influential supporters with the utmost conviction that another miracle will happen – that she will raise 5.6 million dollars for the “1000 Day” plan that involves building more children’s villages so that more children live in a good home, receive medical care and nutritious meals, and be fully educated.

As Caroline pointed out last night, no gift is too big or too small to make an enormous difference. From $25 so a child can have books for school, to $10,000 to sponsor an entire cottage to be built that will house 10 children and their housemother – Caroline’s drive and dedication to devoting her entire life to a better future for these children are undeniable.

I’m proud to support such a woman and such an organization – I have seen the work first-hand myself, many times. It was what inspired me to write the book, The Weight of Silence. I applaud how far the Miracle Foundation has come, and I look forward to seeing these new homes built and hundreds more children receive the family and support system that they currently lack.

Namaste,
Shelley

Bookmark and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on November 18, 2009, in India, nonprofit, orphans, volunteer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

