Success Stories from Orphanages

For today’s Good News Wednesday, I would like to share a child’s success story in another part of South Asia. Nepal and India are often intertwined when it comes to issues affecting children. Nepalese girls who are trafficked into the sex trade are usually brought into India, and other children pulled into child labor are often trafficked between the two countries. Once across an international border, it becomes incredibly harder to find and rescue these young people.

I visited Nepal on my last trip to India, in March 2009. While there I visited a wonderful organization called Maiti Nepal (see my previous post about them here). Maiti Nepal is instrumental in the fight in Nepal against trafficking and the sex trade – they investigate such trafficking and work with police and other organizations to rescue these girls; they provide a home in Kathmandu where they rehabilitate the young women, providing them shelter and education, and teaching them a trade; and they conduct extensive awareness and educational campaigns across the country to let people know how trafficking occurs and how to help stop it.

If you have a chance, check out the incredible work they are doing, or consider becoming a Friend of Maiti Nepal. I had the great privilege of meeting the people who run this group in Seattle, and being invited to a screening of their movie, The Day My God Died, narrated by Tim Robbins.

Tej

Tej

A few weeks ago, I was pleased to receive a connection through Facebook, from a young man living in Nepal. He introduced himself as someone who had grown up in an orphanage in Nepal, and because of the care, attention and education he received, has grown up to be a happy and successful young adult.

His name is Tej, and the place he grew up is the Horac Nepal home. Tej wrote:

I am grown in one of the orphanages named as HORAC/Nepal and I have completed my school level from the orphanage. I have secured very good marks and now I am currently at my college level. My orphanage is my home and it has given me a lot of care and support in every step. I am at this stage all because of the love and care given by my home. You can log on to “www.horac.org” to know about my happy home.

Thank you for sharing your story, Tej – I always love hearing about such organizations that really are providing the support and love that helps such young people have a bright future.

More information about HORAC:

Home for Rescue of the Afflicted Children (HORAC/Nepal), established in 2005, is a non-for-profit social organization. It is duly registered with the Nepal Government and the Social Welfare Council of Nepal. The main purpose of the organization is to provide helpless and needy children; especially those who lost their father and/or their mother in the years of conflict in Nepal, the opportunity of being children, receiving parental love and care. HORAC/Nepal aims to provide all of the children under its care with good education and a high level of guidance, so that they can grow to be assets to their community.

Poverty and conflict are the main causes that have left many children abandoned and homeless in our country. Many have been detached from home and parents and are compelled to pass their life on street as street children, beggars, child labourers as well as orphans. Keeping view of humanity and morality, HORAC/Nepal has set specific goals and objectives to help and care for those deprived children and build a bright future by providing education to those children and by preserving their right and privileges.

Bookmark and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on October 14, 2009, in asia, children, India, inspiration, nonprofit, orphans, sex trade, shelley seale and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

