The Smallest Sacrifices

Listen to the show by clicking above

Listen to the show by clicking above

For today’s Good News Wednesday segment, I first want to highlight some exciting news. I will be on Peter Greenberg‘s nationally syndicated “Worldwide Travel” radio show this Saturday, October 10!

The show begins at 9 am Central Time, and you can listen to it online by clicking the Listen Now button on the right-hand side of the page.

Peter Greenberg is America’s most recognized, honored and respected front-line travel news journalist.He is Travel Editor for CBS News, and appears on The Early Show and across many CBS broadcast platforms.

An Emmy Award-winning investigative reporter and producer, Peter was named one of the most influential people in travel by Travel Weekly, along with Al Gore, Bill Marriott and Richard Branson. Peter is also host of the nationally syndicated Peter Greenberg Worldwide Radio show, broadcast each week from a different remote location around the world. He is heard on more than 150 stations, Sirius/XM radio and Armed Forces Radio.

His other current titles include Travel Editor at Large for AARP, Contributing Editor for Men’s Health magazine, and contributor to Parade, ForbesTraveler.com and MSN.com. He has been a featured guest on The Oprah Winfrey Show, The View, Late Night with Conan O’Brien, and Larry King Live.

I am very honored to be a guest on his show! Bookmark and Share

In other Good News, a few weeks ago I had a message from a reader, Lynn McKenna, who said this:

“Reviewing my Amex bill and noticed my Starbucks spend last month: $60. Decided to give up lattes for 30 days and instead donate $60 to the Miracle Foundation. That modest donation / unimaginably small sacrifice will allow the Foundation to provide: medical care, nutrition, a bed, and loving care to one infant in India for one month. BTW, this organization has great credibility…I became aware of them by reading a terrific, inspiring, educational book – The Weight of Silence…written by FB friend Shelley Seale.”

Thank you so much, Lynn – both for your own creative way to improve the lives and futures of these children, and by demonstrating just how easily we can find ways that we spend small amounts of money – money that could easily go toward a bigger cause and never missed by us, but which makes a HUGE difference in the life of a child. You have no idea how far $60 will go for these kids in India! It’s truly amazing.

Thanks, Lynn, for being an inspiration to motivate me, and I hope others, in ways we can all make a difference, places we all spend small amounts of money that would have such a great impact when donated. For my part, I’ve decided to make one day per week a “Spend Nothing” day – I spend NO money that day, I mean nothing, not one penny. Then I figure I typically spend about $20 a day on average, whether that’s on food or a movie rental or gas or whatever…and I donate that money.

So my challenge to all the readers today is:

What is that one thing YOU can do? What creative way in your life, can you think of to carve out $5, $20, $100 to help improve the lives of children?

If you want to write and share your idea and donation, I’d love to hear it! As always, thank you so much to everyone for your support of these kids and their rights. Together we can help make a brighter future for them!

Bookmark and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on October 7, 2009, in asia, children, India, inspiration, interview, journalism, media, news, nonprofit, radio, shelley seale and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

