Shelley on NPR and other fun stuff!

Last week, Austin’s KUT Radio featured an interview with me on the August 17 “Morning Edition” show. You can click here to listen to the 5-minute interview – the page also features some beautiful photos of the children.

In addition, a number of NPR affiliate stations around the country picked up the story and broadcast it as well!

You may be interested in reading a couple of articles I have contributed to other websites in the past week:

India Chose Me – on Troubadour 21, a literary site, about how India wrapped itself around me and refused to let go. I fell in love with the country and her children, and they will always be a part of me.

Slumdog Millionaire: The Story Hollywood Left Behind – on Your Life is a Trip, a terrific travel website whose founders believe that there is no division between your travels, your life and your soul; and who would like to inspire people to be a traveler rather than a tourist in their own life. I wrote this story for their new Opinions section, about the everyday reality of millions of kids such as the fairytale movie portrays.

Kim with son Ian, left, and his brother Eric

Kim with sons Ian, left, and Eric

On another note, I received a very touching email from a new fan. Kimberly sent me a message saying that she related to my book because she had adopted her son from an orphanage in India in 2005. I would like to share a bit of Kimberly’s story with you:

“Today, Ian Harshad is 7 years old and is a delightful and clever boy.  He is still in the process of recovering from severe malnutrition and maternal deprivation and has years of therapy ahead.  He bears many emotional and physical scars from his first three years and worries almost daily about his birth parents.  His mother was a teenager who we pray is still alive and thriving.  Thank you for your great effort in researching and writing on this difficult subject.  I hope you will continue to follow the story of the children you met in India and provide your readership with a follow-up on their lives.”

Thank you, Kimberly, for sharing your story with me, and my other readers. You and your beautiful son are an inspiration!

Bookmark and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on August 23, 2009, in India and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

