Book Release – June 15!

WOS cover

Click on the cover to pre-order!

The Weight of Silence: Invisible Children of India official release date is June 15, 2009! You can pre-order the book here. I am so excited, and I hope that you will be interested in reading the book that I have worked so hard on, and that so many of you have supported me in, to give a voice to these children and make many others in the world aware of the issues affecting them. Also check back at this website – on June 15, the launch date, I will be unveiling a totally new look and design to the site, as well as launching a two-week Virtual Book Tour from June 15-30 – click here to view the schedule.

During the Virtual Book Tour I will be appearing on a different website or blog each day to do an interview Q&A about the book and the topics and issues surrounding these children of India. If you are interested in being a part of the book tour at your site, please drop me a line.

Also, if you are willing to help raise awareness by placing an announcement about the book and some brief info and a link on your site, I would really appreciate it. Of course you can write whatever you’d like about the issues and the book, and you can get lots of information from this website. To make it easier for you, if you wish, below I’ve posted a sample announcement blurb and link, and you can use the book cover image as well. Thank you all again for the wonderful support you have all shown me!

Dog’s Eye View Media proudly presents a true-life story straight from today’s headlines.  Shelley Seale’s narrative non-fiction book follows the lives of just such children as those brought to life in the movie Slumdog Millionaire. The Weight of Silence: Invisible Children of India depicts Seale’s journey into orphanages and through the streets and slums of India where millions of innocent children live without families. During her three years of writing The Weight of Silence, Seale has befriended and told the stories of many such children – and has born witness to their struggles first hand. Foreword by Joan Collins.

Release Date: June 15, 2009
Buy the Book: https://weightofsilence.wordpress.com
ISBN: 978-0-9802323-7-0

Bookmark and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on June 8, 2009, in asia, children, global, India, interview, journalism, news, nonfiction, orphans, poverty, shelley seale, slavery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. How many times & ways can I tell you how extremely proud I am of you. I have always know (being your mother) that you were a very special person (as are all of my daughters) and one of the most compassionate people I know. Most of us feel this same compassion; but you go out into the world and do something truly amazing to create changes for these children. I know many of them will have their lives changed forever in some miraculous way because you have taken up their struggles & made them your own. No mom could ever be more proud than I am of you. I know you will continue to do great things. I love you always, Mom

Leave a Reply

