Care for India

I received word through a writer’s group I am a member of about a new organization called Care for India. This is a non-profit website whose purpose is to aggregate information about the many issues impacting India’s development as well as the various initiatives taken by private citizens, the government and NGOs to tackle each of these issues.

How often have we all looked around us and felt upset, angry or disgusted with the state of affairs in India – be it the numerous poor children we see shivering in rags and begging on the streets, the quality of education dished out, the various health epidemics or other issues? And yet very often that anger or disgust or anguish fails to find a productive outlet which would help mitigate the problem.

India has always been a country with tremendous potential but unless each and every one of us becomes aware and contributes our share, that potential is always going to remain in the realms of speculation. It is unfair and impractical to expect only the government to be responsible for each and every problem and frankly, the results thereof are clearly visible today. The purpose of Care for India is to make it easier for each of us who cares for India to understand her problems and be able to help.

This is a great place to get informative articles about the various issues in India, or contribute if you have something to say! Visit Care for India!

Bookmark and Share


About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on February 22, 2009, in India, media, news, nonprofit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. i wish to connect to social service.

    can u please me guide how?

  2. Hi Sunny,
    Because of many requests from people with big hearts like yourself, I have created a page which lists information on donating or volunteering with organizations that address these issues. You can learn more about how to get involved by going to https://weightofsilence.wordpress.com/donatevolunteer/.

    Thank you so much for your interest and desire to make a positive impact!
    Shelley

  1. Pingback: Care for India « The Weight of Silence

Leave a Reply

