Give Thanks in a Meaningful Way

In honor of Thanksgiving, I would like to tell you about GlobalGiving’s “Everybody Can Win!” challenge. GlobalGiving is a global marketplace for philanthropy that helps donors support causes they are passionate about. Using its public website, GlobalGiving connects donors to more than 500 community based projects worldwide. The site hosts projects which range in topic from education and the environment to healthcare and human rights in more than 69 countries. Over the past 5 years, more than $13 million has been raised through GlobalGiving.

GlobalGiving’s Everybody Can Win! Challenge is an opportunity for donors to help innovative children’s health and education projects earn up to $25,000.

What is the challenge?
Just for participating, Project Leaders start out with a $2,500 prize! But to keep it, projects must raise $5,000 from 50 unique donors (at least 50 different people) between November 15 and December 15, 2008. In addition to keeping the $2,500, projects can compete for other rewards. The project that recruits the most unique donors will earn an extra $15,000, and the project that raises the most money will earn an extra $10,000.

Why give?
Your donation matters! Every donation supports the health and education needs of children around the world. And from November 15-December 15, your donation has the potential to have an even greater impact by helping these projects get one step closer to these amazing opportunities.

Who are the participants?
Participants are pre-screened, pre-selected project leaders from around the world who are working on health or education projects that support children. I have a particular GlobalGiving project that I would like to recommend, one I have visited and worked with personally: Little HEARTS orphanage.

As part of a month-long trip I took to India in 2007, that was part volunteer vacation and part research and interview for this book, I spent several days with the children at Little Hearts. These children have been orphaned by AIDS in Andhra Pradesh, the Indian state with the highest infection rates in a country that has the most AIDS orphans of any country in the world. In this south Indian state, where 30% of adults have HIV/AIDS, C.P. Kumar and his family took in 26 abandoned children. They need to build a second story onto their house and provide education, health care, food and love. With help, these small projects can grow into a network of local care providers who can rescue great numbers of children. HEART House, which now cares for 26 orphans, is poised to expand, but needs our help.

You can read my story about Little Hearts here. I have been a consistent donor and supporter of C.P. and the children of Little Hearts, and have seen the direct results of my support. I sent $500 US to build toilets (previously there had been only one sub-standard toilet for all 26 children); a few months later I arrived, and saw the new toilets and sinks being completed!

Click here to donate or read more about Little Heart’s GlobalGiving fundraising campaign.

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on November 27, 2008, in India and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

