A New Day in America

I am proud of my country today.

It’s a new day in America, isn’t it? It’s thrilling to think that kids who are 8 or 10 years old today, this is a whole new place for them. When they become of age to vote, they’ll wonder why it was such a big deal. Like the way when I was growing up, I thought how impossible it seemed that there were once separate water fountains for whites and blacks. The fact that kids today will grow up in a world where a person of color holds the most powerful office in the world – and women are routinely running for such offices – is an amazing thing.

Equally inspiring is the fact that citizens of the United States have made our voices heard – not just to the electorate, but to the rest of the world. We are as tired of war, of unilateral bullying, of arrogance and of a country that’s run as if it’s an empire, as the rest of the world is. For the first time in a long time, I feel the potential of peace and solidarity with the rest of this small place we call earth. 

For the first time in a long time, I’m not embarrassed to be American. 

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on November 5, 2008, in global, India, news, shelley seale and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

