Missing Face of AIDS featured on InfoChange

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent
about things that matter.” -Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

While in India this past March I made a post called “The Missing Face of AIDS,” about the epidemic and its devastating effect on children. A longer, expanded journalistic article from this post has been published by InfoChange India. It is currently a featured story in their current issue on child rights. You can read the story on their website (click here to view).

The article centers on grandparents who are raising their grandchildren orphaned by AIDS, and the way the disease has been impacting children in India. Virtually excluded from the response to the epidemic, children are losing not only their parents but their entire childhoods. Due to the stigma, they are also subject to some of the cruelest forms of discrimination and social ostracization. AIDS is wiping out entire villages in some parts of the country hardest hit, as this article shows.

Read the complete article on InfoChange India


I interview Durgamma in her
home on March 20, 2007

I would like to thank Durgamma and Ramulamma, two grandparents in Vambay Colony outside Vijayawada who shared their stories with me. I would also like to thank Keerthi Bollineni, Dr. Deeksha Pillarisetty, and Abraham Mulurti from VMM (Vasavya Mahila Mandali) for their interviews, time, and information shared with me.

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on May 8, 2007, in India, shelley seale and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

