CNN: AIDS & India’s New Untouchables

Today on CNN Asia, the Mumbai home page features my article as one of its main rotating headline articles.

The story, “India’s New Untouchables: Children Living with AIDS” tells my personal experience in a village outside Vijayawada, with families who have been devastated by AIDS/HIV. This was a place in which much of the middle generation was missing, wiped out by the epidemic; it was elderly people raising their young grandchildren – some of whom were HIV-positive themselves, in a wholly unnecessary legacy of destruction.

My visit to Yesu’s family, and others, was three years ago – but to this day, I have never stopped thinking about them. I can’t forget the way their eyes looked; beyond tears, just despairing, and struggling to survive.

This article is published on the eve of the International AIDS Conference, which is preparing to meet in Geneva. Won’t you take a moment to read Yesu’s story, pass it on to others, and visit the World AIDS Campaign to learn how you can impact the fight against this disease, which is so devastating for children.

Bookmark           and Share

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

Posted on July 19, 2010, in AIDS, asia, children, global, India, journalism, media, nonfiction, orphans, poverty, shelley seale and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The youth of today determines the world’s future. India, at present, faces a variety of problems ranging from health issues to poverty.

    Stand Up Take Action 2010.

    We need you… Globally more than 173 Million people stood up against poverty in 2009, a Guinness World Record! Let us break this record in 2010!
    Be the voice for the millions of poor people living across India.

    It is Time for You to STAND UP AGAINST POVERTY NOW!

    Join us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/unmcampaignINDIA .
    Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/unmcampaignIND

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,984 other followers

